Reptile Mountain, LLC est mon entreprise de reptiles «petit lot». «Petit lot» signifie que je me concentre sur la qualité plutôt que sur la quantité, ce qui est un élément fondamental de mes opérations. Mon objectif est de produire des scinques à langue bleue australienne élevés en captivité ( Tiliqua scincoides ssp .) Et d'autres reptiles pour que les générations futures de passionnés puissent profiter de pratiques progressives fondées sur des preuves, axées sur le bien-être .

 

Les méthodes par lesquelles un éleveur assure la gestion en captivité importent non seulement pour le cheptel reproducteur et la progéniture produits, mais aussi pour les perspectives éthiques de la garde privée dans son ensemble. Par conséquent, j'ai délibérément choisi d'orienter mon entreprise vers des soins optimaux. Je crois que mes clients passés, présents et futurs reconnaissent ce choix.

 

Voici quelques exemples de mes clients récents et fidèles incroyablement impressionnants de Reptile Mountain LLC: biologistes de la faune, directeurs de zoo AZA, vétérinaires, herpétologues professionnels, collègues éleveurs et de nombreux passionnés privés de tous les horizons.

 

Quand je dis QUALITÉ, je le pense! Le soin et l'énergie mis dans ma collection sont inégalés. Mes animaux sont gérés avec:

  • Lumière linéaire T5 HO UVA / UVB

  • Chaleur halogène (IRa et IRb)

  • Plusieurs modalités d'enrichissement dont une formation très basique (conditionnement opérant)

  • Aliments de la plus haute qualité

  • Boîtiers presque deux fois plus grands que la norme de l'industrie.

Je travaille toujours vers mon objectif de créer un bien-être optimal pour mes animaux (voir la figure ci-dessous). J'ai un plan stratégique à long terme pour développer la taille de l'enceinte, l'enrichissement, la nutrition et les soins basés sur le choix. Mon objectif est de ne jamais cesser de m'améliorer.

Je crois en outre qu'en tant qu'entreprise travaillant avec la faune, il est important de soutenir des procédures écologiquement durables au sein de mes opérations. Par conséquent, j'utilise autant de pratiques écologiques ou verts   que possible. Mes animaux ne sont pas les moins chers du marché, en partie parce que j'ai choisi de garantir le bien-être des animaux et que l'avenir de notre planète passe avant tout.

À propos de

Reptile Mountain Icon

À propos de moi: TC Houston

Je suis un aumônier de l'armée américaine à la retraite (Airborne), un ancien gardien de zoo professionnel AZA (reptiles) et un éleveur à petite échelle avec plus de 30 ans d'expérience dans l'élevage de reptiles. J'ai eu la chance d'avoir voyagé dans 22 pays, vécu sur 3 continents et géré des reptiles en captivité dans plusieurs climats. Tout cela m'a aidé à développer une perspective diversifiée sur l'élevage.

 

Bien que je sois surtout connu pour les scinques, ma passion la plus profonde repose sur les crotales du plateau du Colorado et d'autres petits crotalidés de montagne ( article ). J'aime aussi vraiment les caméléons de montagne et presque toute l'herpétofaune australienne.


Aujourd'hui, je suis très reconnaissant pour la formation de classe mondiale et les opportunités incroyables que j'ai reçues lorsque j'étais un gardien de zoo professionnel que je tenais pour acquis à l'époque. Maintenant, beaucoup plus âgé et un peu plus sage, j'ai l'intention de le donner.

 

Cela étant dit, je suis toujours impatient d'apprendre, d'autant plus que de nouveaux concepts et technologies de bien-être font progresser les reptiles en maintenant un niveau supérieur. Heureusement, j'adore échanger des idées avec d'autres gardiens et apprendre des professionnels chevronnés.

Pendant une brève période au début des années 2000, j'ai eu une très petite entreprise appelée TCH Zoological qui a reçu de très bonnes critiques.

 

Merci beaucoup,

TC

 

Quelques publications sur les reptiles:

HOUSTON, T. (2006). Le crotale Midget fané, Crotalus concolor. Reptilia (GB). (45): 33-37.

 

HOUSTON, T. (2008). Ophioghagie dans un Sidewinder du désert de Sonora en captivité (Crotalus cerastes cercobombus). Sud-ouest Ctr Herptol. Recherche [Web App] http://www.southwesternherp.com/articles/ophioghagybysidewinder.html

 

HOUSTON, T. (2019). Travail acharné: une brève note sur un événement de parturition prolongé dans un scinque à langue bleue du Nord en captivité (Tiliqua scincoides intermedia). iHerp Australia, Vol 13 (juillet / août): pp. 24-27. Disponible en ligne sur https://view.joomag.com/iherp-australia-issue-13/0023855001559687165/p24?short

Reptile Welfare Chart.png

Quand je dis QUALITÉ, je le pense! Le soin et l'énergie mis dans ma collection sont inégalés. Mes animaux sont gérés avec:

  • Lumière linéaire T5 HO UVA / UVB

  • Chaleur halogène (IRa et IRb)

  • Plusieurs modalités d'enrichissement dont une formation très basique (conditionnement opérant)

  • Aliments de la plus haute qualité

  • Boîtiers presque deux fois plus grands que la norme de l'industrie.

Je travaille toujours vers mon objectif de créer un bien-être optimal pour mes animaux (voir la figure ci-dessous). J'ai un plan stratégique à long terme pour développer la taille de l'enceinte, l'enrichissement, la nutrition et les soins basés sur le choix. Mon objectif est de ne jamais cesser de m'améliorer.

Je crois en outre qu'en tant qu'entreprise travaillant avec la faune, il est important de soutenir des procédures écologiquement durables au sein de mes opérations. Par conséquent, j'utilise autant de pratiques écologiques ou verts   que possible. Mes animaux ne sont pas les moins chers du marché, en partie parce que j'ai choisi de garantir le bien-être des animaux et que l'avenir de notre planète passe avant tout.

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

Mes directives de fonctionnement

Pour les transferts, voir les termes et conditions

Je prends soin de ces animaux parce que je les aime. Ce sont les créatures de Dieu et non les miennes. Je prends soin d'eux, je les aide à se reproduire et je donne aux autres l'occasion d'en profiter également. Tous mes animaux, y compris ceux dont je me sépare, sont le prolongement de ma passion pour la faune.

1) Le bien-être animal vient en premier, deuxième et troisième

2) J'offre un accompagnement en consultation pour la durée de vie de mes animaux

3) Je garantis la santé de mes animaux pendant 180 jours après le moment du transfert ( détails de la garantie santé )

4) Je ne vends pas d'animaux sauvages capturés de quelque nature que ce soit pour les animaux de compagnie

 

5) J'apprécie beaucoup le bien-être des animaux, donc je ne traiterai jamais sciemment avec des commerçants d'animaux sauvages qui, pendant les opérations, commettent un traitement inhumain des animaux

 

6) J'apprécie également beaucoup la conservation de la faune et par conséquent, je ne contribuerai jamais sciemment à l'exploitation des populations sauvages ni ne soutiendrai des opérations qui récoltent des espèces sauvages capturées «en péril» (ex. ICUN Red List NT, VU, EN, CR etc.)

 

7) En ce qui concerne la faune importée, je ne travaillerai qu'avec des animaux qui ont été légalement importés et qui ont des documents valides du US Fish & Wildlife Service

8) Je ne soutiens l'hybridation d'aucune espèce et je ne transférerai ni n'achèterai sciemment à quiconque a intentionnellement élevé des hybrides ou soutient un tel comportement

 

9) Je ne supporte pas les animaux "retournés" (quand quelqu'un achète bas et vend haut pour gagner de l'argent). Je ne transférerai ni n'achèterai sciemment des «nageoires d'animaux».

 

10) Je me réserve le droit de refuser le transfert pour tout bien-être animal ou raison légale

 

11) Je travaille uniquement avec des reproducteurs génétiques de qualité et je recherche toutes les opportunités pour éviter la consanguinité. Je vise à maximiser la diversité génétique au sein des espèces et sous-espèces que je gère

 

12) Je travaille avec des espèces rares et difficiles à obtenir. Je refuse d'élever des espèces surreprésentées dans la communauté / le marché des reptiles

 

13) De nombreuses créatures vivantes sont porteuses de Salmonella, y compris des reptiles (scinques à langue bleue). Lavez-vous les mains après avoir manipulé votre ou vos reptiles et assurez-vous que les jeunes enfants font de même.

 

Vues des environs de Reptile Mountain

Eastern Stimson's Python (Antaresia stimsoni orientalis) preparing to explore for the evening
Applegate Special Arizona Mountain Kingsnake (Lampropeltis pyromelana)
Juvenile Pink Tongue Skink (Hemisphaeriodon gerrardii)
Gidgee Skinks Basking (Egernia stokesii)
Algerian Berber Skink (Eumeces algeriensis) resting
Basking Breeder Northern (Tiliqua scincoides intermedia)
Utah Banded Gila Monster (Heloderma suspectum cinctum) basking
Angolan Python (Python anchietae) while exploring after lights out
Aussie Tree Skinks (Egernia striolata)
Anerythristic Pioneertown Rosy Boa Female (Lichanura trivirgata gracia) exploring her enclosure
1/1
Reptile Mountain LLC maintient une adhésion de niveau Argent auprès de l' Association américaine des gardiens de reptiles (USARK). Garder les reptiles en privé est un luxe et un privilège qui sont constamment surveillés et malheureusement à plusieurs reprises à juste titre. Cependant, il y a ceux qui fournissent des soins éthiques de qualité professionnelle qui sont également victimes de dépassement de la législation. USARK aide les gardiens à conserver leur capacité à profiter de ces incroyables créatures de près.
ZAA_white_Final_Logo.png
Reptile Mountain LLC maintient une adhésion de niveau Argent auprès de l' Association américaine des gardiens de reptiles (USARK). Garder les reptiles en privé est un luxe et un privilège qui sont constamment surveillés et malheureusement à plusieurs reprises à juste titre. Cependant, il y a ceux qui fournissent des soins éthiques de qualité professionnelle qui sont également victimes de dépassement de la législation. USARK aide les gardiens à conserver leur capacité à profiter de ces incroyables créatures de près.
Former Zookeeper | YouTube Educator | Reptile Breeder

About

Reptile Mountain Icon
Conservation • Propagation • Welfare • Ethics

Reptile Mountain, LLC is a private reptile breeding, education, and conservation project. Our desire is to positively impact the natural world in four ways.

Sea Turtle
CONSERVATION

Support conservation efforts in the field through financial contributions and community awareness
Anthill Pythons
PROPAGATION

Connect people to wildlife through the sale of responsibly captive bred progeny
Pink Tongue Skink
WELFARE

Empower reptile keepers with accurate welfare-oriented management information
Hermann's Tortoise
ETHICS

Serve as an ethical live animal business (choosing integrity and animals over conveniences and cost)

Currently, this project is what we call a "small-batch" breeding business. Our goal is to produce premium captive bred under represented reptiles including Australian Blue Tongue Skinks (Tiliqua scincoides ssp.) for future generations of enthusiasts to enjoy using evidence based, welfare oriented, progressive practices.  

"Small-batch is intentionally limited and specifically artisanal. In reptile care that means time and energy is driven by nature's example."

 

The methods by which a breeder provides captive management matters not only for the breeding stock and offspring produced, but also for the ethical outlook for private keeping as a whole. Therefore, we've intentionally chosen to direct business toward optimal care. We believe that our past, present, and future customers recognize this choice. 

 

Here are a few examples of our amazingly awesome recent and repeat customers of Reptile Mountain™: AZA Zoos, Wildlife Biologists, Zoo Directors, Veterinarians, Professional Herpetologists, Fellow Breeders, Reptile Educators and many amazing Welfare Oriented Private Enthusiasts from every walk of life.

 

Breeder Housing

When we say PREMIUM, we mean it! The care and energy put into our breeding group is top of the line. Our animals are managed with:

  • Artificial Sunlight (best commercially available)

    • Linear T5 HO UVA/UVB light

    • Halogen basking heat (IRa and IRb)

    • Visible light (LED 5000K-7000K daylight)

  • Several modalities of enrichment

    • Environmental

    • Sensory / Novel

    • Behavioral/ Social

    • Cognitive/ Manipulative

    • Very basic operant conditioning

  • Highest quality diverse foods

  • Enclosures nearly twice the size of the industry standard

  • Outdoor summer enclosures (some species)

 

We are always working toward our goal of creating optimal welfare for our animals (see figure below). We have a long term strategic plan to significantly increase enclosure size, improve enrichment, refine nutrition, and expand my choice based care. The goal is to never cease improving
 

TC Houston with a Gila

TC Houston

Owner | Founder

I'm a retired US Army Chaplain (Airborne), former professional AZA zookeeper (reptiles), and a small-batch breeder with over 30 years of experience working with reptiles. I've been blessed to have traveled to 22 countries, lived on 3 continents, and managed captive reptiles in multiple climates. All of which has helped me develop a diversified perspective on husbandry.

Although, I'm best known for skinks, my deepest passion rests with Rattlesnakes of the Colorado Plateau and other small montane Crotalids (Article). I also truly love montane chameleons and nearly all Australian herpetofauna. 


Today I am so grateful for the world class training and incredible opportunities I received when I was a pro zookeeper which I took for granted at the time. Now, much older and a bit wiser, I intend to pay it forward.

 

All that being said, I am always eager to learn, especially as new welfare concepts and technologies progress reptile management to the next level. Thankfully, I love exchanging ideas with fellow keepers and learning from veteran pros.

 

I currently work as one of the Breeder Directors for Happy Dragons Inc. an ethics driven, reptile-first way to buy and care for reptiles. Check it out here <Link>

For a brief time in the early 2000's I had a very small business called TCH Zoological which received great reviews. 

Thanks so much,

TC 

Some of My Reptile Related Publications:

HOUSTON, T. (2006). The Midget Faded Rattlesnake, Crotalus concolor. Reptilia (GB). (45): 33-37.

HOUSTON, T. (2008). Ophioghagy in A Captive Sonoran Desert Sidewinder (Crotalus cerastes cercobombus). Southwestern Ctr Herptol. Research [Web App] http://www.southwesternherp.com/articles/ophioghagybysidewinder.html

HOUSTON, T. (2019). Hard Labour: A Brief Note on a Prolonged Parturition Event in a Captive Northern Blue-Tongue Skink (Tiliqua scincoides intermedia). iHerp Australia, Vol 13 (Jul/Aug): pp. 24-27. Available online at https://view.joomag.com/iherp-australia-issue-13/0023855001559687165/p24?short

Reptile Welfare Chart.png

We further believe that as a business working with wildlife,  it is important to support environmentally sustainable procedures within my operations. Therefore, we use as many eco-friendly or green practices as possible. Our animals are not the cheapest on the market, in part, because we have opted to ensure animal welfare and our planet's future comes first.
 

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

Our Guidelines of Operation
For Transfers see Terms & Conditions

We care for these animals because we love them. They are God's creatures not ours. We get to care for them, help them reproduce, and give others the opportunity to enjoy them as well.  All of our animals, including the ones we part with, are an extension of our passion for wildlife.

1) Animal welfare comes first, second, and third

2) We provide consultation support for the lifetime of our animals

3) We guarantee our animals' health for 180 days past the time of transfer (Health Guarantee Details)

4) We sell captive bred animals for pets and breeders. We do not sell wild caught animals of any kind for pets

 

5) We highly value animal welfare, therefore we will never knowingly deal with wildlife traders that during operations commit inhumane treatment of animals

 

6) We also highly value wildlife conservation and therefore, we will never knowingly contribute to the exploitation of wild populations nor support operations that harvest wild caught "at risk" species (ie. IUCN Red List NT, VU, EN, CR  etc.)

 

7) With regard to imported wildlife, we will only work with animals that were legally imported and have valid documentation from the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

8) We support species integrity and therefore do not support hybridization of any species and will not knowingly transfer to or buy from anyone who has intentionally  bred hybrids or supports such behavior

9) We support animal care stability and therefore do not support "flipping" animals (when someone buys low and sells high to make money). We will not knowingly transfer to or buy from "animal flippers"

10) We reserve the right to refuse transfer for any animal welfare or legally based reason 

11) We only work with quality genetic breeding stock and seek every opportunity to reduce or eliminate inbreeding. We aim to maximize genetic diversity within the species and subspecies we manage

12) We work with uncommon and difficult to obtain species. we refuse to breed species that are overrepresented in the reptile community/market

13) Many living creatures carry Salmonella including reptiles (Blue Tongue Skinks). Wash your hands after handling your reptile(s) and ensure young children do the same. 

Thorny Devil (Moloch horridus), NT, Australia '19
Blotched Blue Tongue (Tiliqua nigrolutea)
Gidgee Skink (Egernia stokesii)
Crotalus concolor, Midget Faded Rattlesnake
Female Algerian Berber Skink

Views from around Reptile Mountain

Dalmatian Hermann's Tortoise (Testudo hermanni "hercegovinensis")
press to zoom
Eastern Stimson's Python (Antaresia stimsoni orientalis) preparing to explore for the evening
press to zoom
Applegate Special Arizona Mountain Kingsnake (Lampropeltis pyromelana)
press to zoom
Juvenile Pink Tongue Skink (Hemisphaeriodon gerrardii)
press to zoom
Anerythristic Pioneertown Rosy Boa Female (Lichanura trivirgata gracia) exploring her enclosure
press to zoom
Gidgee Skinks Basking (Egernia stokesii)
press to zoom
Algerian Berber Skink (Eumeces algeriensis) resting
press to zoom
Dalmatian Hermann's Tortoise (Testudo hermanni "hercegovinensis")
press to zoom
Basking Breeder Northern (Tiliqua scincoides intermedia)
press to zoom
Utah Banded Gila Monster (Heloderma suspectum cinctum) basking
press to zoom
Angolan Python (Python anchietae) while exploring after lights out
press to zoom
Dalmatian Hermann's Tortoise (Testudo hermanni "hercegovinensis")
press to zoom
Aussie Tree Skinks (Egernia striolata)
press to zoom
Outdoor paddocks for Tortoises and Skinks
press to zoom
1/1
USARK Silver Member Logo.JPG
Reptile Mountain™ LLC maintains a Silver Level Membership with the United States Association of Reptile Keepers (USARK). Keeping reptiles privately is a luxury and privilege that is constantly under scrutiny and sadly many times rightfully so. However, there are those who do provide professional grade ethical care who are also victims to over reaching legislation. USARK helps keepers retain their ability to enjoy these amazing creatures up close. 
ZAA_white_Final_Logo.png
TC Houston is an Associate Member with the Zoological Association of America (ZAA). The ZAA is the younger and smaller zooculturists association in the US. They support developing and premium zoological programs to maintain animal care standards, education, and safety. Membership grants access to zoological professional networks, news, forums, journals, and resources on best practices. Membership does not constitute an endorsement or accreditation of the member. 
TSA-Logo-CURRENT-2018xxx.png
TC Houston is an Individual Member with the Turtle Survival Alliance (TSA). The Turtle Survival Alliance (TSA) was formed in 2001 as an International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) partnership for sustainable captive management of freshwater turtles and tortoises, and initially designated a Task Force of the IUCN Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group.  The TSA has been particularly involved in recovery efforts where a managed breeding component is part of an overall survival strategy. The TSA employs a comprehensive strategy for evaluating the most critically endangered chelonians that identifies whether a species is prioritized for a captive program or through range country efforts, or a combination of both.