top of page
ReptileMountainIcon.png

UTAH BANDED GILA MONSTERS

Utah Banded Gila Monsters
(Heloderma suspectum cinctum)
Das Gila-Monster ( Heloderma verdächtig ) ist bei weitem eine meiner Lieblingseidechsen aller Zeiten. Sie sind für viele Herpetologen eine Ikone des amerikanischen Südwestens und eine Legende der Reptilienwelt. Tatsächlich sind Gilas für viele Reptilienliebhaber das "Einhorn" aller Eidechsen. Sie sind in der Tat das für mich, eine "Einhornart", und ich hoffe, eines Tages eine kleine Gruppe dieser erstaunlichen giftigen Eidechsen zu züchten.
Utah Banded Gila Monster
Utah banded Gila Monster
Heloderma verdächtige cinctum
Utah Banded Gila Monster
Utah Banded Gila Monster
Das Utah Banded Gila Monster ist eine natürlich vorkommende ortsspezifische Unterart der einzigen giftigen Eidechse in den USA. Diese Tiere stammen aus dem nördlichsten Teil des Artenbereichs im Washington County im äußersten Südwesten von Utah. Sie wurden auch vor kurzem (2019) das staatliche Reptil von Utah.
 
Gila-Monster sind in allen Staaten, in denen sie einheimisch sind, vor Sammlung und Belästigung geschützt. Daher ist die Beschaffung von in Gefangenschaft gehaltenen Tieren ein sehr spezifizierter Prozess. Jeder in Gefangenschaft gehaltenen Gila muss ein Nachweis über den legalen Erwerb / die legale Vermehrung beigefügt sein, um die Anforderungen des US-amerikanischen Fisch- und Wildtierdienstes zu erfüllen.
Fast alle in Privatbesitz befindlichen Utah Banded Gila-Linien stammen von Professional Breeders (R), die Steve und Karen Osborne gehören und von ihnen betrieben werden. 1989 erhielten Steven und Karen Osborne eine Zuchtgruppe (10+ Tiere) von der CalPoly University. Aus diesen Tieren und einigen Tierbeständen im Zoo konnten sie mehrere nicht verwandte mütterliche Linien von in Gefangenschaft gezüchteten Gilas herstellen. Seitdem züchten sie diese selektiv nach Farbe und Muster. Alle Tiere aus ihren Blutlinien werden mit Unterlagen geliefert.
Quelle:
Steve und Karen Osborne, (2019) https://www.probreeders.com/utah-banded-gila-monster [Zugriff 20.03.2020]
bottom of page

UTAH BANDED

GILA MONSTERS

The Gila Monster (Heloderma suspectum) is by far one of my favorite lizards of all time. They are an icon of the American Southwest and a legend of the reptile world for many herpetologists. In fact for many reptile enthusiasts, gilas are the "unicorn" of all lizards. They are indeed that for me, a "unicorn species," and everyday I feel so very fortunate to work with a small group of these amazing venomous lizards. 
Utah Banded Gila Monsters
Heloderma suspectum cinctum
The Utah Banded Gila Monster is a naturally occurring locality specific subspecies of the only venomous lizard in the US. These animals originate from the northern most portion of the species' range in Washington County in the extreme southwestern corner of Utah. They also recently (2019) became the state reptile of Utah.
 
Gila Monsters are protected from collection and harassment in all states where they are indigenous and therefore sourcing captive animals is a very specified process. Every captive gila must be accompanied with proof of legal acquisition/propagation to satisfy US Fish and Wildlife Service requirements. 
Nearly all the privately held Utah Banded Gila lineages originate from Professional Breeders (R) owned and operated by Steve and Karen Osborne. In 1989 Steven and Karen Osborne were loaned a breeding group (10+ animals) from CalPoly University. From those animals and some zoo stock animals they were able to establish several unrelated maternal lines of captive bred gilas. Since then they have been selectively breeding these for color and pattern. My animals are all from their bloodlines with documentation. I have raised all mine from hatchlings or juveniles and hope to begin breeding these young adults (4-5 years old) in the coming seasons. 
Source:
Steve and Karen Osborne, (2019)  https://www.probreeders.com/utah-banded-gila-monster [Accessed 3/20/2020]

1/1

Copyright © 2020 | Reptile Mountain, LLC  |  tc.houston@reptilemountain.com  |  Colorado, USA

 

Privacy

7202540951