東部護理指南

Reptile Mountain Icon
已更新:2021年2月
HD logo2.png

CARE GUIDE

ReptileMountainSnowCap.png

CARE GUIDE

CAPTIVE MANAGEMENT OF

EASTERN BLUE TONGUE SKINKS

 

By TC Houston

Reptile Welfare Chart.png

動物福利絕對是維持圈養爬行動物最重要的部分。作為爬行動物飼養者或寵物主人,我們對這些美麗,有知覺和聰明的生物的整個生命負有責任。

 

每個飼養員都必須從某個地方開始,而且通常這個開始都包括非常基本的護理。可以理解,為您的動物提供基本護理是作為寵物主人或爬行動物飼養員開始的最常見的地方。但是,基本護理不是最終狀態,也不是很長時間可以接受的停藥地點。爬上爬行動物福利金字塔(如圖所示)不僅是好事而且是適當的。請查看此圖表,並註意以下提供的非常基本的護理指南。

 

住房

Tiliqua(藍舌石龍)是陸生動物,這意味著它們幾乎只生活在地面上。他們的身體經過精心設計,可以快速高效地穿過第一層地層,從而使其在本質上幾乎是窩骨的。因此,在考慮外殼時,它們需要表面積而不是高度。

 

東部人只比北部人短,瘦一些, 並且一隻動物可以在美國嗜好性的最小飼養者中生存,每個成年飼養者可以飼養40加侖(長36英寸X寬18英寸), 或最小飼養面積為4.5+平方英尺。建築面積。

 

高度的絕對最小值應為10英寸,但不得超過24英寸。有幾種市售爬行動物外殼可用此尺寸。

 

對於行業中經常出現的任何藍舌皮物種,封閉面積為8平方英尺或更大的佔地面積是最佳選擇。

我建議使用Kages Custom Reptile Enclosures(ReptileKages.com )的4 x 2 x 2 PVC外殼或更大的外殼,用於永久成人住房。還有許多其他出色的定制機箱。我使用的Kages機櫃的尺寸為6-8 + sq.ft。每隻動物的佔地面積和我自己建立的自定義系統。

 

請記住,每隻動物都是具有個體生長,最終大小,行為和易感性的個體。因此,有些動物可能需要較大的圍欄,而有些動物可能需要較小或較少的“開放式”圍欄才能繁衍生息。爬行動物飼養的一部分是學習生物學/科學與適應個體動物“行之有效”的藝術之間的平衡。靈活性和觀察力是飼養任何動物的最重要的關鍵方面。

 

重要提示:某些東部藍舌可以同居,但是新飼養者切勿將自己的皮囊放在一起!提利瓜(Tiliqua)對特定物種可能具有極強的領土,防禦甚至侵略性。出於育種目的,只能將它們放在一起並在短期內直接指導,或由懂得如何看懂行為的有經驗的飼養員將它們放在一起。

餵養與飲食

 

在野生藍舌石龍魚中,大多數食用蝸牛,腐肉,昆蟲,野菜,漿果,水果和植物原料。他們不是狡猾的掠食者,而是一般的雜食性機會主義者。嬰兒在其生命的第一個季節/生命中就更食肉/食蟲了。

由於許多貓和狗食品中雜食性成分,大多數飼養員和飼養者將貓或狗糧作為主食餵養他們的動物(也就是日糧的50%以上)。我餵我的藍舌頭各種各樣的狗糧,貓糧, 發藍的自助由Repashy全金阿卡迪亞。我還用50%的健康草本蔬菜或新鮮切成丁的蔬菜和蔬菜補充成年狗糧。

 

關於食物密度的注意事項:

了解食物密度對於確保最佳健康至關重要。例如,一杯幹狗粗磨粉中的蛋白質和營養成分可能比一杯濕狗糧多3倍。為什麼?由於水分含量高。水分有助於降低密度並增加水合作用。除了喝水(口渴不能提供足夠的水分)外,許多物種(包括提利瓜)也將從食物中獲取水分。飼餵高密度食物可能會給動物的肝臟,腎臟和消化系統造成壓力,從而產生細微的問題,從而縮短您的幼皮的壽命。不,您不能簡單地浸泡粗磨。不幸的是,儘管比不浸泡更好,但浸泡粗磨的過程只能提供約1:1的水分比,這與濕食品不同。因此,濕食品最適合追求最佳飲食。但是,僅濕狗糧中蛋白質和脂肪的含量也太高/太濃……這不僅會給器官造成壓力,還會導致痛風和脂肪肝疾病。所以這就是為什麼我建議成人的石龍子維持飲食中含有50%的植物。這些食物的纖維含量較高,含水量較高,因此“按飲食餵養”的密度較小。促進瘦,健康和補水的瘦身。


下面是餵養時間表我使用,我在旋轉狗糧與全黃金和發藍的自助餐成人和濕式貓糧嬰兒。例如,超過5週:

 

第一周:狗食品牌#1 w / veg

第二週:狗食品牌#2 w / veg

第三週:全金

第四周:狗糧品牌#3

第五週:藍自助餐

(重複週期)

 

 

成人(1年+ / 400克以上)

蔬菜濕狗糧/ Bluey Buffet / Omni Gold

每週1次

(1-2湯匙)

 

次成人(6mo – 1yr / 300g +)

濕狗糧/ Bluey Buffet(每月一次)

每週2-3次

(1-2湯匙)

 

少年(2-6mo / 100g-300g)

濕CAT食物/ Bluey Buffet(每月最多一次)

每個另一天

(1湯匙)

 

嬰兒(0-2mo / 15-100g)

濕CAT食物/ Bluey Buffet(每月最多一次)

日常

(1-3茶匙)

 

根據他們的經驗,我給他們提供與他們頭頂大小相同的服務。

 

成分溶解氧

  • 高動物蛋白含量

  • 無穀物

  • 各種水果和蔬菜(嬰兒幾乎沒有)

  • 蘿蔔青菜,芥末青菜,夏/意粉南瓜

  • 保持新鮮(必要時凍結)

  • 鈣(碳酸鈣或磷酸三鈣)

  • 維生素D3補充劑

 

我餵養的成人食品(1年以上)

 

  • 全地球農場免費穀物豐盛的土耳其和雞肉食譜濕狗糧

  • Nature's Logic濕火雞/雞肉配方狗糧

  • Ziganture濕土耳其狗糧

  • Arcadia Omni Gold Earth Pro系列

  • Repashy的Bluey Buffet

  • 各種蔬菜和蔬菜(白蘿蔔和芥末醬,胡桃和意大利粉南瓜等)

  • 藍莓/毛豆/香蕉/小老鼠(預先殺死)都在OCCASION上作為TREATS食用

 

成分不要

  • 魚(包括魚油)

  • 澱粉填料(馬鈴薯)

  • 大黃

  • 大塊或大塊

  • 菠菜(一點點都可以)

 

 

 

 

 

 

我餵的嬰兒食品(0-11mo)

 

  • Halo無麩質天然濕貓糧,室內土耳其和鵪鶉食譜濕貓糧

  • Nature's Logic濕潤土耳其/兔子配方貓糧

  • Wellness CORE無穀物土耳其和鴨配方貓糧

  • 健康無穀物土耳其醬貓糧

 
 

燈光

大多數藍舌每天的健康狀況良好,每天光照12至14個小時。紫外光波長-B(UVB)與許多脊椎動物的心理和生理福利有關,可以人工提供以提高石skin的健康水平。我必須指出,到目前為止,我還沒有任何關於UVB對藍舌結石的心理健康影響的行為研究。因此,為心理健康提供UVB純粹是一種推測。儘管缺乏精神福利方面的證據,但我還是選擇向我的皮膚提供UVB,以取得壓倒性的生理健康益處。

 

底線:UVB在整體能量利用中起著至關重要的作用,包括但不限於大多數陸生脊椎動物(如藍舌石龍子)中的維生素D3合成。沒有維生素D3,蜥蜴就無法吸收鈣,因此它們的骨骼將無法生長,而變得非常脆弱,最終會發展成新陳代謝性骨病(MBD),這將是非常痛苦的,如果不加以解決可能會致命。維生素D3進入動物系統的過程有兩種。

1)適當的UVB照明

和/或

2)飲食供給

 

如果正確提供,兩種方法都可以非常成功地達到令人滿意的25(OH)D3 aka羥基維生素D水平。 但是,已證明UVB光的生理益處是在血液中提供最佳動物調節25(OH)D3水平的最有效 人工途徑。這使動物對超過2,000個基因的影響增加,從而影響了包括細胞分裂和免疫系統(來源)在內的各種功能。因此,我使用ZooMed的線性T5 HO 5.0 UVB燈泡使種雞保持skin散,為他們提供維持25(OH)D3天然水平所需的UVI(紫外線指數)。但是,由於數量和空間的巨大挑戰,我確實在短時間內不用UVB撫養嬰兒,並僅使用膳食補充劑。

 

提供多少UVB?

 

存在的UVB光量由所謂的UV指數(UVI)確定。這是通過稱為Solarometer 6.5和/或6.5R的設備進行測量的(R =爬行動物,意味著設備上有蜥蜴貼紙,純粹是推銷產品)。每隻動物在曬太陽的地方都需要不同量的UVI。爬蟲學家加里·弗格森(Gary Ferguson)博士和他的研究小組創建了一個名為弗格森帶的系統,該系統可以根據野外對紫外線的需求對物種進行分類。 Soloarmter 6.5幫助飼養員確定他們的動物是否從燈泡中獲得正確的UVI。如果您沒有日光計,請務必遵循製造商的燈泡強度和放置指南。

藍舌是“中級”弗格森地區的動物,需要:
在2至3區之間
1.1至4.0 UVI(紫外線指數)
我的目標是3.0 UVI
強烈建議使用UVB,並證明它是Vit的最佳方法。 D3規定

我強烈建議使用UVB。如果使用燈泡,請注意燈泡大約每6 -12個月左右更換一次(除非包裝上有說明)。這些燈泡中存在汞,這會導致UVB的產生隨著時間的流逝而分解,因此無論燈泡是否仍在發光,都必須每半年更換一次。為愛好提供了不同種類的UVB燈泡,因為有些動物對於心理和生理用途具有不同的取暖行為和UVB要求。一些動物,例如鬍鬚龍,由於它們在野外的生活方式(整日在正午的陽光下曬太陽),因此需要高水平的UVB(又稱較高的UVI)。一些動物,例如舌頭上的藍皮貓,使用中度至較低水平的UVB(又稱中度UVI),因為它們在清晨和下午/晚上曬太陽時會曬太陽,而紫外線的輸出量較少。使用正確的UVB產品將確保為您的肌膚帶來最佳效果。

 

如果打算將光用於D3合成,建議在細屏幕(<1/8英寸)或玻璃上方使用UVB的10.0 T5 HO管版本。重要的是要知道,UVB燈泡只能將UVB投射到燈泡表面一定距離,因為它們通常需要距離動物皮膚18英寸以內且不小於6英寸才能最有效。一定要遵循包裝準則或理想情況下使用日光計6.5來確保動物有正確的UVI。我在定制架系統中為我的成年動物使用了ZooMed T5 HO Linear 5.0 15w燈泡。

 

如果您選擇使用UVB作為D3的來源,我建議您每月一次補充飲食中補充維生素D3或定期補充低D3的鈣產品,因為這些動物是雜食動物,並且通過在野外食用動物蛋白來攝取飲食中的D3。

 

我已經看到,由於不正確地使用紫外線導致的動物比不正確的飲食補充引起MBD的動物多。

 

 

 

加熱與溫度

Tiliqua具有放熱性(冷血),需要利用其環境調節體溫以實現消化和整體健康的身體功能。在囚禁中,飼養員有責任提供正確的環境。此處的關鍵是提供一個熱梯度,使動物可以從溫暖到寒冷來回運動,從而獲得所需的合適溫度。為了做到這一點,構想出保持架的一端大約是熱/熱空間的1/3,而另一端是冷/熱空間。

 

Tiliqua scincoides的理想溫度梯度在熱端為90F-95F,在較冷端為70-75F,並具有98F-100F的曬點。

 

我還沒有發現需要夜間降溫。如果確實(有意或無意地)出現了夜間溫度下降,我發現確保提供80F的夜間溫暖區域,並且不允許涼爽的區域降到60F以下太多對於呼吸系統健康很重要。

達到合適的溫度具有多個變量,包括但不限於室溫,室內濕度,室內空氣流量,籠籠材料,籠籠尺寸,籠籠與其他籠籠的位置以及用於提供熱量的熱敏元件的類型。找到一個良好的熱梯度是對飼養員內真正的“種植學家”進行測試的地方。您可能需要“玩弄或玩弄”您的元素,直到獲得正確的溫度範圍。這可以通過增加/減少恆溫器的設置,將燈泡/ CHE(陶瓷熱發射器)更改為更高或更低的瓦特數,增加或減少燈泡/ CHE與底面的距離等等來實現。因此,購買溫度槍以獲得快速準確的表面溫度讀數至關重要。在此站點的“資源”選項卡下,您會找到一個指向我使用/推薦的耗材的鏈接,其中包括臨時噴槍。

 

重要的熱量提示:我建議使用調光器上的滷素PAR泛光燈作為頂部采暖區域/熱源。這裡的關鍵詞是“鹵素”和“泛光燈”。這是至關重要的,因為鹵素燈泡會產生適當的光波,以使熱量穿透動物的軀幹。其他形式的燈泡或發射器請勿這樣做,只能加熱不足的動物皮膚表面。而且,泛光燈通常具有使光折射以均勻地分散在更寬的空間上的玻璃,以使生理學熱滲透的量最大化。

水合(水)

 

Tiliqua需要一個恆定的淡水源,可以通過給它們提供能容納4-8盎司水的沉重淺水皿輕鬆地提供水。碗最好在1-2英寸之間。由於Tiliqua會傾倒在任何輕便或不穩定的水盆上,因此水盆應該很重或至少很難灑落。藍舌魚會在水中被褥,應經常提供新的淡水。

澳大利亞物種(尤其是東部物種)不需要高濕度。它們在30%-50%的相對濕度下效果很好。只要通風良好且土壤不濕,它們就可以處理高達60%的水分。保持它們太濕或太乾都會導致健康問題。美國大多數典型的室內環境都具有良好的濕度,不需要任何額外的操作。有時在非常乾燥的冬季,動物會腹部乾燥。如果將您的動物放在柏樹覆蓋物上,一個簡單的解決方法是每天輕輕噴灑一次床上用品,以防止水垢乾燥。另一種選擇是使用潮濕的生皮,該生皮是6-15夸脫的塑料鞋盒,該鞋盒的側面切有一個足夠大的孔,以使動物可以穿進去。在盒子裡放上潮濕的泥炭蘚,然後蓋緊蓋子。苔蘚將保持水分至少一周,並且動物可以像迷你“桑拿”一樣爬入室內以根據需要吸收水分。

注意:藍舌不是游泳者。他們會游泳,但出於純粹的生存和需要。他們不需要,也不應將其放置在超過一半(1/2)英寸的水中。通過適當的飼養,這些動物永遠都不需要像蛇一樣“浸泡”。即使棚子卡住了,也只需要一個良好的潮濕皮即可。

 

基質

我將Easterns保留在以下兩種方法之一中,純有機柏樹覆蓋物(ZooMed的Forest Floor)或椰子殼片(ReptiChip / ProCoco)作為底物。許多飼養員發現,柏樹,椰子殼片,蘭花皮(ZooMed的ReptiBark)和白楊刨花都可以很好地用於東部藍舌。我使用柏樹/可可果殼芯片,因為它們可能會被霧化並根據需要保持濕度。我之所以選擇使用可可果殼片,主要是因為它價格便宜,而且在科羅拉多州,空氣是如此乾燥,以至於我需要一種可以保持一定濕度的基材,而Aspen風格的床上用品則不然。

 

所有爬行動物都需要一個地方來感到安全並完全看不見,以保持最佳的心理健康狀態。尤其是東方人可能會先羞怯一段時間後才能適應新房。提供一個完全看不見的“隱藏”或地方對於照顧包括爬蟲在內的任何爬行動物都是必不可少的。我以兩種方式提供皮革。一種方法是使用堆滿的提摩西乾草/稻草,使動物可以將自己埋在看不見的地方。另一種選擇是使用市售的塑料或木質皮革。我使用五金店的波紋塑料管“ T型連接器”,並用鑽頭和拉鍊將其修改

 

壓力

野生動物的爬行動物不適合與人類或其他掠食性動物(如貓和狗)同居。鑑於石龍子魚這種動物的持續存在會導致不健康的壓力水平。例如,整日坐在圍牆外面的貓或在交通繁忙的區域(靠近地面的地板低矮)的圍牆會快速移動,這會導致嚴重的壓力積聚。有時,即使是經過良好調整的動物也可以緩慢地(數週/數月)克服壓力,並因免疫系統受損而引起其他健康問題。

 

盡可能使其他寵物遠離視線,並且將寵物圈放在交通繁忙的區域之外,可以幫助確保您的爬行動物的長期健康。

 

處理方式

爬行動物,甚至是藍色的舌頭,都不是“依ugg夥伴”,因為人與人之間的互動和接觸對他們的情感健康具有積極的作用,這與狗等社交動物不同。話雖這麼說,但有些個體會在與人互動以及探索包括人在內的世界時很好地回應人類的互動,並表現出愉悅的表情。重要的是,在這些情況下,像皮包骨頭一樣思考,而不是像皮包骨頭一樣。

 

確保與人的互動是積極的,包括尋找平靜的呼吸,平穩的好奇動作和穩定的舌尖輕拂等。在處理或與任何爬行動物互動時,同樣要考慮時間,這一點很重要。大多數爬行動物不是“馬拉松”型運動員,而是需要經常休息以恢復活動能力,而藍舌石ks也不例外。允許將交互/探索時間限制為每天10-30分鐘為宜。

 

同樣,觀察到快速呼吸,狂熱運動,持續頻繁或快速的甩舌或尋求掩蓋的跡象表明該動物正處在窘迫狀態,需要放回它們的圍欄並至少待24小時。

握住石龍子時,請勿抓住它們的尾巴或擠壓其身體,因為這可能會造成傷害,甚至導致尾巴折斷(尾部切開術)。一般而言,當他們受到約束時,它們的效果並不好,也沒有必要進行處理。他們需要能夠在您的手中鬆動地移動。重要的是要支撐他們的軀幹,並在可能的情況下讓他們的腳(一次至少2個)支撐,這樣他們就不會晃來晃去。一旦他們感到舒適,他們可能會放鬆並讓腳垂下來。

 

跳動的嬰兒和青少年需要放在柔軟而不是太高的物體上,以防它們跳躍或顛簸並最終跌落。跌落可能會造成嚴重傷害。我知道有幾位曾經因意外摔倒而使石龍子掉下來的飼養員。

豐富

豐富是爬行動物福利的關鍵要素。

 

過去,由於爬行動物飼養者缺乏對爬行動物大腦的了解以及他們自身對富營養化的目標的了解,因此術語“富營養化”已被他們所忽略。可悲的是,許多飼養者誤解了豐富化,試圖為動物帶來幸福。但是,實際上,對爬行動物的富集與使它們“快樂”無關,而與幫助它們變得健康無關。讓我再說一遍……豐富不是關於“幸福”,而是關於健康。

 

簡而言之,豐富化干預措施是對動物生活經驗的補充,有助於實現生理和心理上的最佳健康。它幫助我將動物的大腦視為大量的開/關開關,因此,出於某些實用目的,每個開關都已經演化為存在於動物中。在圈養管理下的動物(我們的寵物)與野生動物有不同的生活經歷,並且不一定總能打開和關閉這些“開關”。但是,開關的存在意味著應該使用它。當然,並非每個開關都需要以相同的數量或強度打開或關閉……但是它們都可以達到目的。

因此,動物(器官)(包括大腦)越接近其進化目的,動物就越健康。

 

以下是一組通常確定的圈養動物致富方式。這些幫助飼養員針對不同的“開關”,並使我們的寵物爬行動物朝著實現最佳健康的道路前進。

 

注意:並非所有這些示例都適用於“藍色舌頭”。

 

  • 感官-旅遊景點,氣味,紋理,體驗,品味

  • 食品/進料-食品類型,風味,質地,方法

  • 認知/操縱性-解決問題,解謎遊戲,攀爬,挖掘,游泳,浸泡,挖洞

  • 環境-照明,氣流,空間佈置,濕度,枝條,原木,岩石,植物,土壤,溫度

  • 行為/社交-與特定物種交往,與其他物種交往,繁殖,狩獵,覓食,訓練,選擇

藍舌飼養者和爬行動物飼養者通常應挖掘其創造力的工具箱,並在每種方式中開發適當的隨機物種豐富的機會,以便在圈養管理下例行增加其動物的生活經驗。

EASTERN Care Guide

Captive Care

 

Housing

Tiliqua (Blue Tongue Skinks) are terrestrial animals, meaning they live almost exclusively on the ground. Their bodies are designed to move quickly and efficiently through the first layer of strata making them almost fossorial in nature. Therefore, they need surface area rather than height when considering housing. 

 

Easterns are only slightly shorter and thinner than their Northern counterparts and a single animal can do very well in the U.S. hobby-wide MINIMUM, a 40 gallon breeder (36in. long X 18in. wide) per adult, or at MINIMUM 4.5+ sq.ft. floor space.

 

Height should be an absolute MINIMUM of 10 inches but need not be more than 18 inches. There are several commercially available reptile enclosures available at this size. Exo-Terra makes a nice front opening glass terrarium called a "Large-Low" which is 36L X 18w X 12h and perfect for most smaller adult Tiliqua. 

Many keepers choose to keep their animals in larger enclosures such as 48l X 24w X 18h with great success. Tiliqua will use every inch of ground space you provide.

 I recommend either the Exo-Terra Large-Low terrarium or the 4 x 2 x 2 PVC enclosure from Kages Custom Reptile Enclosures (ReptileKages.com) for permanent adult housing. There are many other custom enclosures available that are excellent as well. I use Exo-Terra terrariums and custom built rack I construct myself. 

 

Please keep in mind that each animal is an individual with individual growth, terminal size, behaviors, and predispositions. Therefore, some animals may need larger enclosures and some may need smaller or less “open-view” enclosures to thrive. Part of reptile keeping is learning the balance between the biology/science and the art of adapting to “what works” for the individual animal. Flexibility and observation are the most important keys aspects to keeping any animal.

 

IMPORTANT: Some Eastern Blue-Tongues can cohabitate HOWEVER new keepers should NEVER house their skinks together! Tiliqua can extremely territorial, defensive, and even aggressive toward conspecifics. They should only be placed together for breeding purposes under DIRECT supervision for short periods of time or by EXPERIENCED KEEPERS who know how to read behavior.

Feeding & Diet

 

In the wild blue-tongue skinks eat mostly land snails, carrion, insects, wild veggies, berries, fruits, and plant materials. They are not cunning predators but rather general omnivorous opportunists. Babies are more carnivorous/insectivorous for their first season/year of life.

Due to the omnivorous ingredients in many cat and dog foods a majority of breeders and keepers feed their animals cat or dog food as a staple (aka over 50% of the diet). I feed my blue tongues a variety of dog foods, cat foods, Bluey Buffet by Repashy and Omni Gold by Arcadia. I also supplement adult dog foods with 50% Healthy Herp Veggies or fresh diced greens and veggies

Below is the feeding schedule I use, I ROTATE dog food with Omni Gold and Bluey Buffet for adults and wet cat food for babies. For example over 5 weeks:

 

Week 1: Dog Food Brand #1 w/veg

Week 2: Dog Food Brand #2 w/veg

Week 3: Omni Gold

Week 4: Dog Food Brand #3

Week 5: Bluey Buffet

(repeat cycle)

Adults (1 yr +/ 400g+)

Wet DOG food with veg/ Bluey Buffet/ Omni Gold

1 x per week

(1-2 tablespoons)

Sub-Adults (6mo – 1yr /300g+)

Wet DOG food/ Bluey Buffet (once a month)

2-3 x per week

 (1-2 tablespoons)

 

Juveniles (2-6mo/ 100g-300g)

Wet CAT food/ Bluey Buffet (once a month max)

Every other day

(1 tablespoon)

 

Babies (0-2mo/ 15-100g)

Wet CAT food/ Bluey Buffet (once a month max)

Daily

(1-3 teaspoons)

 I give them a serving the size of their head or a bit bigger as a rule of thumb. 

 

Ingredient DOs

  • High Animal Protein content

  • Grain-Free

  • Variety of Fruits and Veggies (little to none for babies)

  • Turnip greens, Mustard greens, Summer/Spaghetti Squash

  • Keep fresh (freeze if needed)

  • Calcium (Calcium carbonate or tricalcium phosphate)

  • Vitamin D3 Supplement

Adult Foods I Feed (1 yr +)

  • Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Hearty Turkey and Chicken Recipe Wet Dog food

  • Nature's Logic Wet Turkey/Chicken Formulas Dog foods

  • Ziganture Wet Turkey Dog Food

  • Arcadia Omni Gold Earth Pro Series

  • Repashy’s Bluey Buffet

  • Variety of Greens and Veggies (Turnip & Mustard Greens, Butternut & Spaghetti Squash etc.)

  • Blueberries/Edamame/Banana/ Pinky Mice (pre-killed) all on OCCASION as TREATS

 

Ingredient DON'Ts

  • Fish (including fish oils)

  • Starchy fillers (potatoes)

  • Rhubarb 

  • Chunky or Large bite sizes 

  • Spinach (a little is okay)

Baby Foods I feed (0-11mo)

  • Halo Gluten Free Natural Wet Cat Food, Indoor Turkey & Quail Recipe Wet Cat food

  • Nature's Logic Wet Turkey/Rabbit Formula Cat Foods

  • Wellness CORE Grain-Free Turkey, and Duck formulas Cat foods

  • Wellness Grain-Free Turkey Pate Cat Food

 
 

Lighting

Most blue tongues do well with 12-14 hours of light per day for overall health. Ultraviolet Light Wavelength - B (UVB) has been linked to psychological and physiological welfare in many vertebrates and can be provided artificially for premium wellness in skinks. I must note that I am unaware of any behavioral studies regarding the impact of UVB on mental health in blue tongues skinks to date. Thus, providing UVB for psychological health is purely conjecture. Despite the lack of evidence for mental welfare I choose to provide UVB to my skinks for the overwhelming physiological health benefits. 

 

The bottom line: UVB plays a vital role in overall energy utilization, including but NOT LIMITED to Vitamin D3 synthesis in a majority of terrestrial vertebrates such as blue tongue skinks. Without vitamin D3 the lizards CANNOT absorb calcium and thus their bones will not grow strong but rather horribly weak and can eventually develop metabolic bone disease (MBD) which is horribly painful and can be fatal if unaddressed. Getting Vitamin D3 into an animal's system can occur through two avenues;

1) appropriate UVB lighting

and/or

2) dietary provision.

Both ways, if provided correctly, can be very successful in achieving satisfactory 25(OH)D3 aka hydroxyvitamin D levels. HOWEVER, the physiological benefits of  UVB light has proven to be THE MOST EFFECTIVE artificial avenue to providing maximum animal regulated 25(OH)D3 levels in the blood . This gives the animals an increased influence over 2,000 genes impacting a huge range of functions, including cell division and the immune system (source). Thus, I keep my breeder skinks with linear T5 HO 5.0 UVB bulbs from ZooMed giving them the UVI (Ultra Violet Index) needed to maintain natural levels of 25(OH)D3. Still, because of the sheer numbers and space challenges I do raise babies for short periods of time without UVB and use dietary supplementation alone. 

Important note about UVB bulbs: The coil/compact style bulbs put out very limited amount of quality UVB and only certain brands with certain watts put out enough UVB waves to aid in D3 synthesis in BTS. If you intend to use UVB  BE CERTAIN to get a Solarmeter 6.5 to measure the amount of UV coming from your bulbs so that you are not just “trusting” the labels on the box which have often been proven to be misleading. Some bulbs can put out unsafe levels while others put out almost nothing.

 Blue tongues are intermediate Ferguson Zone Animals Requiring: 

 between Zone 2 and Zone 3: 1.1 to 3.0 UVI (UV Index) 

 

UVB is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

 

I highly recommend using UVB. If used, be aware they require changing about every 6 -12 months or so (unless stated on the package). There is mercury inside these bulbs that allows for the production of UVB that breaks down over time and thus one must replace the bulbs semi-annually regardless if they are still emitting light. There are different kinds of UVB light bulbs provided to the hobby because there are animals that have different basking behaviors and UVB requirements for psychological and physiological uses. Some animals, such as bearded dragons, require high levels of UVB because of the way they live in the wild (basking all day in the high noon sun). Some animals such as, blue tongue skinks, use moderate to lower levels of UVB because they bask in the early morning and afternoon/evenings when the UVB output from the sun is less. Using the right UVB product will ensure the best outcome for your skink.

 

I recommend the 10.0 T5 HO tube versions of UVB if used above a fine (<1/8 in.) screen or glass if you intend to use the light for D3 synthesis purposes. It is important to know that UVB bulbs only project UVB a specified distance from the bulb’s surface to they often need to be within 18” and not closer than 6" from of the animal’s skin to be their most effective. Be certain to follow the package guidelines and use a Solarmeter 6.5. I use the ZooMed T5 HO Linear 5.0 15w bulbs for my adult animals in the custom rack system. If you chose to go with UVB as your source of D3 I recommend still providing a dietary supplement of the Vitamin D3 once a month or a lower D3 percentage calcium product routinely.

 

I have seen far more animals develop MBD due to incorrect use of UV use than with incorrect dietary supplementation.

 

 

Heating & Temperatures

Tiliqua are ectothermic (cold blooded) and need to use their environment to regulate their body temperatures for digestion and overall healthy body functions. In captivity it is the keeper's responsibility to provide the correct environment. The key here is to provide a thermal gradient that allows the animal to move back and forth from warm to cool so as to get the right temperature they need. In order to do this having one end of the cage approx 1/3 of the space warm/hot and the opposite end cool/warm is idea.

 

The ideal temperature gradient for Tiliqua scincoides scincoides is 90F-95F on the warm end and 70-75F on the cooler end with a basking spot of 98F-100F. 

 

I have not found that a night temperature drop is required. If a night temp drop does occur (intentionally or not) I have found that ensuring a night warm area of 80F is provided and not allowing the cool area to drop too far below 60F is important for respiratory health.
 

Reaching the appropriate temperature has multiple variables including but not limited to room temperature, house hold humidity, room air flow, cage material, cage size, location of cage to others, and type of thermal element used to provide heat. Finding a good heat gradient is where the real “herpetoculture artist” within the keeper is tested. You may have to “play with or fiddle with” your elements until you get the right temperature range. This can be done by increasing/decreasing your settings on thermostats, changing bulbs/CHE (Ceramic Heat Emitter) to higher or lower wattages, increasing or decreasing the distance the bulb/CHE is from the basking surface and much more.  For this reason the purchase of a temperature gun to get fast accurate surface temp readings is essential. On this site under the “Resources” tab you will find a link to supplies I use/ recommend including the temp gun.

Important HEAT NOTE: I recommend using a halogen PAR floodlight bulb that is on a light dimmer for an over head basking area/heat source. The key words here are “halogen” and “floodlight.” This is crucial as halogen bulbs produce the proper light waves to penetrate your animal’s torso with heat. Other forms of bulb or emitter DO NOT DO THIS and only heat the animal’s skin surface which is insufficient. Also, floodlights typically have a glass that refracts the light to disperse evenly over a broader space so as to maximize the amount of physiological heat penetration.

 

Hydration (Water)

Tiliqua need a constant fresh water source which can easily be provided by giving them a heavy shallow water dish that holds 4-8 ounces of water. A bowl that is between 1-2 inches tall is best. The bowl should be heavy or at least difficult to spill as Tiliqua will tip over any lightweight or unstable water bowls. Blue-tongues will get bedding in their water and new fresh water should be provided often.

The Australian species (Easterns especially) do not need high humidity. They do very well with 30%-50% relative humidity. They can handle up into the high 60 percentages as long as there is good ventilation and their soil is not wet. Keeping them too wet or too dry can cause health issues. Most typical U.S. indoor environments have good humidity without needing anything extra. Sometimes in the very dry winter months animals will get dry belly scales. If your animals are kept on cypress mulch a simple fix is to spray down the bedding lightly once a day to prevent dry scales. Another option is to use a humid hide which is a 6-15 quart plastic shoe box with a hole cut into the side big enough for the animal to fit through. Inside the box place damp sphagnum moss and place the lid on securely. The moss will hold the moisture for at least a week and the animal can climb inside like a mini “sauna” to gain moisture as needed.

NOTE: Blue-Tongues are not swimmers. They can swim but out of pure survival and need. They do not need to nor should they be placed in water deeper than one-half (1/2) inch. With proper husbandry these animals should never need to be "soaked" like a snake. Even with a stuck shed a good humid hide is all that should be required.

 

Substrate

I keep my Easterns on one of two things, pure organic cypress mulch (ZooMed's Forest Floor) or coconut husk chips (ReptiChip/ProCoco) as a substrate. Many keepers have found that cypress, coconut husk chips, orchid bark (ReptiBark by ZooMed), and aspen shavings all work well for Eastern Blue Tongues. I use cypress/coco husk chips because it can be misted and hold humidity as needed. I elected to use coco husk chips primarily because it is less expensive and in Colorado the air is so dry that I needed to have a substrate that can hold some humidity which is not the case with Aspen style beddings.

 

Hides

All reptiles need a place to feel secure and completely out of sight in order to maintain peak psychological wellness. Easterns in particular can be shy for some time before getting comfortable with their new homes. Providing a “hide” or place to be completely out of sight is essential to caring for any reptile including skinks. I provide hides in a couple of ways. One way is to use timothy hay/ straw piled up whereby the animal can bury themselves out of sight. Another option is to use commercially available plastic or wood hides. I use corrugated plastic tubing “T-connectors” from the hardware store and modify them with a drill and zip-ties

 

Stress

Reptiles in the wild are not designed to cohabitate with humans or other predatory type animals such as cats and dogs. Constant presence of such animals in view of a skink can cause unhealthy levels of stress. For example, a cat sitting outside the enclosure all day long or an enclosure low to the floor in a high traffic area where lots of fast movement is observed can cause serious stress that accumulates. Sometimes even a well-adjusted animal can slowly (over a period of weeks/months) become overcome by stress and develop other health issues from a compromised immune system.

Keeping other pets away from view as often as possible and keeping enclosures out of high traffic areas can help ensure your reptile’s long term well being.

 

Handling

Reptiles, even blue tongue skinks, are not “snuggle buddies” in the sense that human interaction and touch is something that contributes positively to their emotional health which is unlike social animals such as dogs. That being said some individual skinks will respond well to human interaction and exhibit the appearance of enjoyment when exploring their world and those in it, including people. It is important to think like a skink and not for a skink in these situations.

Ensuring that interactions with people are positive includes looking for calm breathing, smooth inquisitive movements, and steady calm tongue flicks, etc. It is important when handling or interacting with any reptile that time be a consideration as well. Most reptiles are not “marathon” type athletes and rather they need to rest frequently to recover from activities, and blue tongue skinks are no different. Allowing interaction/explore time to be limited to 10-30 minutes a day is appropriate.

Also, observations of rapid breathing, frantic movements, consistent frequent or rapid tongue flicks, or seeking cover are signs the animal is experiencing distress and needs to be returned to their enclosure and left alone for 24 hours minimum.

While holding your skink do not hold them by the tail or squeeze their body as this can cause harm or even tail break (caudal autotomy). They do not do well when restrained in general and it is not necessary for handling, I have given my skinks injections of mediation without requiring restraint. They need to be able to loosely move through your hands. It is important to support their torso and if possible allow their feet (at least 2 at a time) to have support so they are not dangling. Once they feel comfortable they may relax and allow their feet to hang off you.

Flighty babies and juveniles need to be held over something soft and not too high in case they leap or jolt and end up falling. Serious injury can occur from a fall. I know of a few keepers who have had skinks break their jaws from accidental falls.

Copyright © 2020 | Reptile Mountain, LLC  |  tc.houston@reptilemountain.com  |  Colorado, USA

 

Privacy

7202540951